July 21, 2014

Ms. Abigail Smith
Deputy Mayor for Education
Government of the District of Columbia
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Suite 303
Washington, DC 20004
Abigail.Smith@dc.gov

RE: Proposed Revisions to Attendance Zones and Student Assignment Policies

Dear Deputy Mayor Smith,

At its regular meeting on July 16, 2014, Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2A ("ANC 2A" or "Commission") considered the above-referenced matter. With seven of eight commissioners present, a quorum at a duly-noticed public meeting, the Commission approved the following resolution by a vote of (7-0-0):

Whereas the Deputy Mayor for Education is overseeing an extensive revision to Attendance Zones and Student Assignment policies;

Whereas the current draft of the Advisory Committee on Student Assignment Proposal was issued in June 2014 and public feedback will be accepted through July 21, 2014;

Whereas according to the current draft the School Without Walls at Francis-Stevens Education Campus (SWWFS) will see the number of students residing within its attendance zone drop from 1020 students to 110:

Whereas most of the students in the proposed attendance zone would be young and that a relatively small proportion would remain for middle school; and

Whereas ANC2A has previously expressed support for neighborhood schools.

Therefore, be it resolved that ANC 2A recommends the following:

- That current middle school attendance zones be largely preserved so that Thomson and Ross Elementary Schools be assigned to SWWFS for middle school; and
- That the draft attendance zone proposed by the Advisory Committee on Student Assignment for SWWFS at the elementary school level be adopted.

Commissioner Patrick Kennedy (<u>Patrick.Kennedy@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Chris Sondreal (<u>chris.sondreal@gmail.com</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

ON BEHALF OF THE COMMISSION.

Sincerely,

Patrick Kennedy Chairperson

cc: Kaya Henderson; Chancellor, D.C. Public Schools

cc: Chris Sondreal; Designated ANC 2A Representative, Ward 2 Education Network

cc: ANC 2A Commissioners